An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

El Paso Sector Texas

This office provides law enforcement support for the counties of El Paso and Hudspeth in the state of Texas and the entire state of New Mexico. This site provides Sector-related information, including Sector operations, Sector contact information, where our stations are located, and news.


The El Paso Border Patrol Sector was established on July 1, 1924, under the authority of the Immigration Act approved by Congress on May 28, 1924. This Act created the Border Patrol as a uniformed law enforcement branch of the Immigration Bureau. The original El Paso Sector encompassed New Mexico and the three western counties of Texas. The first officers selected for the new Border Patrol came from the old mounted guards and Civil Services Register for Railway Mail Clerks.

Area of Responsibility

Today, the El Paso Sector is one of nine Border Patrol Sectors that run along the Southwest Border of the United States with Mexico. The sector is comprised of eleven stations and covers the geographical region of the entire state of New Mexico as well as two counties within far west Texas.

The stations that make up the El Paso sector are:

  • Alamogordo, New Mexico
  • Deming, New Mexico
  • El Paso, Texas
  • Clint, Texas
  • Fort Hancock, Texas
  • Las Cruces, New Mexico
  • Lordsburg, New Mexico
  • Santa Teresa, New Mexico
  • Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
  • Ysleta, Texas

The El Paso Sector patrols 268 miles of international border and encompasses 125,500 square miles.

Service Area: The El Paso Sector covers the entire state of New Mexico and the two western most counties in Texas, Hudspeth and El Paso. This consists of 125,500 square miles, 121,000 square miles in New Mexico and 4,500 square miles in Texas. There are 264 miles of international boundary.

Sector Headquarters Location: 8901 Montana Avenue, El Paso, Texas

Stations: Stations of the El Paso Sector are located in El Paso, Clint, Fort Hancock, and Ysleta, Texas and Alamogordo, Albuquerque, Deming, Las Cruces, Lordsburg, Truth or Consequences, and Santa Teresa, New Mexico.

Contact Information: Phone: (915) 834-8350; Sector Headquarters Mailing Address: 8901 Montana Avenue, El Paso, TX 79925-1212

Employment Opportunities: To obtain information about employment opportunities with the Border Patrol, you may contact this Sector and ask to speak to a recruiter. Additional recruiter contact information is provided at Locate a Border Patrol Recruiter. You will find additional information about careers with the Border Patrol in the Careers section of this Web site.

Public Affairs Office: To receive information concerning community or media-related issues, contact the El Paso Sector Public Affairs Office at (915) 834-8365.

Vehicle Seizure Office: Contact the El Paso Sector at (915) 834-8541 for vehicle seizure or asset forfeiture inquiries.

El Paso Sector challenge coin

The El Paso Sector challenge coin, incorporating elements such as the U.S. flag, representations of Texas and New Mexico, and the motto, "Where the Legend Began."

Last Modified: Aug 21, 2023