Skip to main content

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

  1. Home
  2. Newsroom
  3. Press Officers

Press Officers

U.S. Customs and Border Protection SCAM ALERT: Scammers are posing as CBP Officers and Agents, demanding payment from unsuspecting fraud victims. Never give out your personal financial information over the phone to anyone claiming they are from the government demanding payment under threat of arrest. The Department of Homeland Security and CBP DOES NOT solicit money over the phone. Report the incident to the Federal Trade Commission. Be sure to note any phone numbers or identifying information. Hang up, it'


CBP has spokespersons in Washington, D.C. and around the country to assist members of the working press.

The CBP Media Relations inbox and individual press inquiries are monitored Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern (except federal holidays). Requests that come in outside that timeframe will be addressed the following business day.

This policy is not to be construed as a declination to respond, rather, it is meant to ensure U.S. Customs and Border Protection is allowed to conduct the due diligence required to respond appropriately.

Non-media inquiries can be addressed by the CBP INFO Center,

National Issues - HQ Press Officers

State Listings - Regional Press Officers

Public Affairs Specialist States Covered
Robert Daniels
John Mennell
Michael Scappechio
CA (Southern)
Jaime I Ruiz
(562) 980-3110
California (Los Angeles and Northern), Nevada, Utah, Oregon, Hawaii, Alaska
Gerrelaine Alcordo
California (Southern)
Ryan Brisette
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
Steve Sapp
(215) 594-4117
Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Southern New Jersey, Pennsylvania
Alan Regalado
Rob Brisley
(404) 629-4163
Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, South Carolina
Steve Bansbach
Illinois, Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky, Wisconsin, Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, South Dakota, Pennsylvania (Erie), Minnesota, Nebraska
Lawrence "Rusty" Payne
Louisiana, Texas (East), Tennessee
Youssef Fawaz
Jason Givens
Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Washington
Anthony Bucci
(646) 733-3275
New York (New York City), Northern New Jersey
Mike Niezgoda
New York State (Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse, Albany)
Jeffrey Quinones
Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Caribbean
Dennis Smith
(830) 778-7051
Texas (Del Rio)
Roderick Kise
Texas (Rio Grande Valley)
Rick Pauza
Texas (South)
Sara Melendez
Texas (South)
Roger Maier
(915) 730-7269
Texas (West), New Mexico
Landon Hutchens
(202) 407-4241
Texas (West), New Mexico
Last Modified: Aug 18, 2023