US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Press Officers

CBP has spokespersons in Washington, D.C. and around the country to assist members of the working press. 

The CBP Media Relations inbox and individual press inquiries are monitored Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern (except Federal holidays.)  Requests that come in outside that timeframe will be addressed the following business day. 

This policy is not to be construed as a declination to respond, rather, it is meant to ensure U.S. Customs and Border Protection is allowed to conduct the due-diligence required to respond appropriately.

Non-media inquiries can be addressed by the CBP INFO Center, help.cbp.gov

National Issues - HQ Press Officers

Lawrence "Rusty" Payne, Director of Media
Phone: (202) 325-0465
Stephanie Malin, Northern & Coastal Branch Chief
Phone: (405) 319-6490
Cecilia Barreda, Southwest Branch Chief
Phone: (202) 325-4536
Matthew Dyman, Public Affairs Specialist
Phone: (202) 325-0567
Jacqueline "Jackie" Wren, Public Affairs Specialist
Phone: (202) 325-0345
Nate Peeters, Public Affairs Specialist
Phone: (202) 344-1743

State Listings - Regional Press Officers

Public Affairs Specialist States Covered
John Mennell
JOHN.B.MENNELL@cbp.dhs.gov
(202) 644-2560
Arizona
Robert Daniels
Robert.g.daniels@cbp.dhs.gov
(520) 519-7038
Arizona
Macorio Mora
MACARIO.P.MORAJR@cbp.dhs.gov
(202) 407-4245
Arizona (Yuma), California (El Centro)
Jaime I Ruiz
Jaime.i.ruiz@cbp.dhs.gov
(562) 980-3110
California (Los Angeles and Northern), Nevada, Utah, Oregon, Hawaii, Alaska
Jacqueline Wasiluk
jacqueline.e.wasiluk@cbp.dhs.gov
(619) 744-5245
California (Southern)
Michael McCarthy
michael.s.mccarthy@cbp.dhs.gov
(617) 565-6006
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
Stephen Sapp
Stephen.sapp@cbp.dhs.gov
(215) 594-4117
Delaware, Maryland, Northern Virginia, Southern New Jersey, Pennsylvania
Keith Smith
keith.e.smith@cbp.dhs.gov
(305) 810-5190
Florida
Rob Brisley
robert.brisley@cbp.dhs.gov
(404) 997-7867
Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia
Steve Bansbach
steven.p.bansbach@cbp.dhs.gov
(312) 983-5344
Illinois, Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky, Wisconsin, Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, South Dakota, Pennsylvania (Erie), Minnesota, Nebraska
Rhonda Lawson
Rhonda.m.lawson@cbp.dhs.gov
(504) 670-2284
Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas, Tennessee
Kris Grogan
kristoffer.n.grogan@cbp.dhs.gov
(586) 239-2928
Michigan, North Dakota
Jason Givens
Jason.a.givens@cbp.dhs.gov
(206) 370-3812
Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Washington
Mike Niezgoda
michael.niezgoda@cbp.dhs.gov
(716) 626-6451
New York (Buffalo)
Anthony Bucci
Anthony.bucci@cbp.dhs.gov
(646) 733-3275
New York (New York City), Northern New Jersey
Yolanda Choates
Yolanda.choates@cbp.dhs.gov
(713) 387-7360
Oklahoma, Texas (Dallas, Houston)
Jeffrey Quinones
jeffrey.h.quinones@cbp.dhs.gov
(787) 607-2689
Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Caribbean
Gregory L Davis
Gregory.L.Davis@cbp.dhs.gov
(432) 729-5316
Texas (Big Bend)
Dennis Smith
dennis.p.smith@cbp.dhs.gov
(830) 778-7051
Texas (Del Rio)
Roderick Kise
roderick.kise@cbp.dhs.gov
(956) 289-5976
Texas (Rio Grande Valley)
Rick Pauza
Richard.j.pauza@cbp.dhs.gov
(956) 764-3425
Texas (South)
Sara Melendez
Sara.melendez@dhs.gov
(956) 764-3349
Texas (South)
Roger Maier
Roger.maier@cbp.dhs.gov
(915) 730-7269
Texas (West), New Mexico
Last modified: 
June 12, 2020