US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Press Officers

CBP has spokespersons in Washington, D.C. and around the country to assist members of the working press. Our spokespersons address two major operational areas: ports of entry and between ports of entry (Border Patrol).

The CBP Media Relations inbox and individual press inquiries are monitored Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern - except Federal holidays.  Requests that come in outside that timeframe will be addressed the following business day.  This policy is not to be construed as a declination to respond, rather, it is meant to ensure U.S. Customs and Border Protection is allowed to conduct the due-diligence required to respond appropriately.

National Issues - HQ Press Officers

Matthew F Leas, Director of Media
Phone: (202) 344-1730
Lawrence "Rusty" Payne, Deputy Director of Media
Phone: (202) 325-0465
Jennifer Gabris, Director of Digital Media Engagement
Phone: (202) 344-1355
Stephanie Malin, Northern & Coastal Branch Chief
Phone: (405) 319-6490
John Mennell, Acting Southwest Branch Chief
Phone: (202) 344-2958
Jaime I Ruiz, Strategic Media Engagement Branch Chief
Phone: (562) 980-3110
Roland "Chip" Filiault, Public Affairs Specialist
Phone: (202) 325-1486
Kelly Cahalan, Public Affairs Specialist
Phone: (202) 325-3778

State Listings - Regional Press Officers

Public Affairs Specialist States Covered
Robert Daniels
Robert.g.daniels@cbp.dhs.gov
(520) 519-7038
Arizona
Jacqueline Wasiluk
jacqueline.e.wasiluk@cbp.dhs.gov
(619) 744-5245
California (Southern)
Ralph DeSio
Ralph.a.desio@cbp.dhs.gov
(619) 216-4052
California (Southern)
Michael McCarthy
michael.s.mccarthy@cbp.dhs.gov
(617) 565-6006
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
Stephen Sapp
Stephen.sapp@cbp.dhs.gov
(215) 594-4117
Delaware, Maryland, Northern Virginia, Southern New Jersey, Pennsylvania
Keith Smith
keith.e.smith@cbp.dhs.gov
(305) 810-5190
Florida
Rob Brisley
robert.brisley@cbp.dhs.gov
(404) 997-7867
Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia
Steve Bansbach
steven.p.bansbach@cbp.dhs.gov
(312) 983-5344
Illinois, Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky, Wisconsin, Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, South Dakota, Pennsylvania (Erie), Minnesota, Nebraska
Rhonda Lawson
Rhonda.m.lawson@cbp.dhs.gov
(504) 670-2284
Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas, Tennessee
Kris Grogan
kristoffer.n.grogan@cbp.dhs.gov
(586) 239-2928
Michigan, North Dakota
Jason Givens
Jason.a.givens@cbp.dhs.gov
(206) 370-3812
Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Washington
Mike Niezgoda
michael.niezgoda@cbp.dhs.gov
(716) 626-6451
New York (Buffalo)
Anthony Bucci
Anthony.bucci@cbp.dhs.gov
(646) 733-3275
New York (New York City), Northern New Jersey
Yolanda Choates
Yolanda.choates@cbp.dhs.gov
(713) 387-7360
Oklahoma, Texas (Dallas, Houston)
Jeffrey Quinones
jeffrey.h.quinones@cbp.dhs.gov
(787) 607-2689
Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Caribbean
Dennis Smith
dennis.p.smith@cbp.dhs.gov
(830) 778-7051
Texas (Del Rio)
Roderick Kise
roderick.kise@cbp.dhs.gov
(956) 289-5976
Texas (Rio Grande Valley)
Rick Pauza
Richard.j.pauza@cbp.dhs.gov
(956) 764-3425
Texas (South)
Sara Melendez
Sara.melendez@dhs.gov
(956) 764-3349
Texas (South)
James Stossel
JAMES.STOSSEL@cbp.dhs.gov
(202) 330-8655
Texas (Southern)
Roger Maier
Roger.maier@cbp.dhs.gov
(915) 730-7269
Texas (West), New Mexico
Last modified: 
August 22, 2018