US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Tucson Sector Arizona

Welcome to the Tucson Sector of the United States Border Patrol.

Tucson Sector covers most of the State of Arizona from the New Mexico State line to the Yuma County line. This area covers a total of 262 border miles and we are one of the busiest sectors in the country in both illegal alien apprehensions and marijuana seizures. We currently have approximately 3,700 agents working the nine stations in Tucson Sector.

This site provides Sector-related information, including sector operations, contact information, where our stations are located, and news.

Thank you for visiting the Tucson Sector webpage.


The International border area of Arizona was originally patrolled by mounted guards from 1904 until July 1, 1924. On July 1, 1924, Walter F. Miller, the first Chief Patrol Inspector of the sector, organized what was then called the Nogales Sector. The sector was made up of 9 former mounted guards and 26 officers who were selected from a Civil Service Register for railway postal clerks. Equipment for the sector consisted of three government owned vehicles, several rental vehicles, and sufficient horses to provide transportation for the remaining officers. The officers were distributed among 11 stations as follows: Nogales 13; Naco 4; Douglas 4; Patagonia 2; Sasabe 2; Tucson 2; Ajo 2; Amado 2; Hereford 2; Parker Canyon 2; and Tubac 2.

Subsequently, the sector opened stations in Gila Bend and Bowie in 1925 with two assigned inspectors each.

On July 1, 1926, the sector headquarters was moved to Tucson, Arizona and the name was changed to Tucson Sector. At this same time, the manpower at Tucson station increased from two patrol inspectors to four and a new station with two patrol inspectors was opened in Casa Grande, Arizona.

Tucson Area of Responsibility
Today, Tucson Sector is one of the busiest sectors on the Southwest Border, covering 262 miles of linear border from the Yuma County line to the Arizona/New Mexico state line. Its made up of nine stations that are broken down into three corridors. These nine stations are located in Why, Casa Grande, Tucson, Nogales, Willcox, Sonoita, Bisbee, Douglas, and Three Points.

General Information

Interim Chief Patrol Agent: John R. Modlin

Acting Deputy Chief Patrol Agent:  Sabri Y. Dikman

Sector Headquarters Location: 2430 S. Swan Road, Tucson AZ 85711

Stations: Stations of the Tucson Sector are located in Why, Casa Grande, Douglas, Bisbee, Nogales, Sonoita, Tucson, Three Points, and Willcox, Arizona.

Contact Information: Phone Number - (520) 748-3000; Sector Headquarters Mailing Address: 2430 S. Swan Road, Tucson, AZ 85711.

Community Feedback: We strive to provide quality service to our customers. If we have not lived up to this commitment, we would like to know. If we have met or exceeded your expectations, please let us know that as well. To comment on the services provided by this office, please write to the Sector Chief Patrol Agent. If you feel you were mistreated by a Border Patrol employee or wish to make a complaint of misconduct by a Border Patrol employee, you may write to the Chief Patrol Agent.

Employment Opportunities: To obtain information about employment opportunities with the Border Patrol, you may contact this Sector and ask to speak to a recruiter. You will find additional information about careers with the Border Patrol in the Careers section of this website.

Public Affairs Office: To receive information concerning community or media-related issues, contact the Tucson Sector Public Affairs Office at (520) 748-3000.

Vehicle Seizure Office: Contact the Tucson Sector at (520) 748-3100 for vehicle seizure or asset forfeiture inquiries.

Border Community Liaison: Pete Bidegain at PETE.B.BIDEGAIN-III@CBP.DHS.GOV

Challenge Coin

Front and back side images of Tucson Sector's Challenge Coin



Last modified: 
February 12, 2021