US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Customs Brokers

Customs Brokers and Customs Broker License applicants should refer to this webpage for information and announcements. The statutory authority for the licensing of customs brokers by the Secretary of the Treasury is found in section 641, Tariff Act of 1930, as amended (19 U.S.C. § 1641). Rules and regulations related to the licensing of customs brokers are set forth in Part 111 of the CBP Regulations (19 C.F.R. § 111.0, et seq.). Licenses are issued to persons (i.e., individuals, corporations, partnerships, and associations) to conduct "customs business" on behalf of other persons.

2021 Triennial Status Report and Fee

The status report and fee was due no later than February 28, 2021.  All licenses for which a report and fee was not submitted are in suspended status and will be revoked by operation of law if a report and fee is not submitted within 60 days of the notice of suspension letter that was issued to the last reported mailing address associated with the license holder.

Save Time – Submit Online

Online, automated Triennial Status report and fee payment

On December 15, 2020, Revenue Modernization’s Electronic Payment Options project (ePO/eCBP), in conjunction with Office of Trade’s Broker Management Branch, launched its online portal for the submission of the 2021 Triennial Status Report (TSR).

All licensed customs brokers are encouraged to visit e.cbp.dhs.gov to submit their required TSR.  Login using authentication from Login.gov and navigate through the self-paced questions to fulfill the TSR requirement.  As the user navigates through the few short screens to complete the filing process, when required they will be prompted to upload employee lists, identify the brokerage company they work for and if that company will pay the fee on their behalf.  Brokerage firms appreciate the ability to pay the fee for all their license holder employees at one time.  Improved payment receipting and payment notification ensures that the brokerage and the individual license holder have plenty of documentation of compliance.

For more information see FAQs and TRS system Quick Reference Guides at: /trade/ecbp

Save Time – Submit Online – e.cbp.dhs.gov

Customs Brokers License Exam Information

The bi-annual Customs broker license exam (CBLE) was administered on April 21, 2021.  The electronic exam was held nationwide at over 120 testing locations and via remote proctor delivery. The exam results letters were emailed to the examinees on June 4, 2021. First appeals for the April 2021 exam are due to CBP no later than August 3, 2021.

The April 21, 2021 CBLE resulted in a 19% pass rate prior to appeal decisions. 

The October 8, 2020 CBLE resulted in a 37% pass rate prior to appeal decisions. 

APRIL 2021 BROKER LICENSE EXAM INFORMATION

Broker Exam Questions

CBP welcomes the submittal of new questions for future broker exams.  Please submit your questions to brokermanagement@cbp.dhs.gov with "Future Exam Questions" in the subject line.  Select HERE for the Guidelines on writing new questions.

Modernization of the Customs Broker Regulations

U.S. Customs and Border Protection announces the publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) for the long awaited update to 19 CFR 111.  The NPRM for modernization of the Customs broker regulations (85 FR 34836) and elimination of Customs broker district permit fee (85 FR 34549) published June 5, 2020.  The comment period ended August 4, 2020.

It is suspected this will address many of the Commercial Customs Operations Advisory Committee's (COAC) recommendations.  Some are listed below:

  • Replace the “district permit” and “national permit” with “the permit” to better reflect the transition to a single permit framework that operates at the national level within the customs territory of the United States.
  • Require brokers to have a single permit that allows them to have sufficient authority to conduct customs business at the national level within the customs territory of the United States.  This will also eliminate the need for brokers to request permit waivers.
  • Prepare a transition plan to a single permit.
  • Require brokers to provide satisfactory evidence of how the entity intends to exercise Responsible Supervision and Control.
  • Make enhancement to ACE for broker reporting and Streamline Broker reporting.
  • Update the factors related to Responsible Supervision and Control related to the transition of managing under the national permit that would replace the district permit.
  • Require that the Power of Attorney come directly from the Importer to the Broker.
  • Remove specific dollar fee amounts and reference a single source of location allowing greater flexibility.
  • Expand Broker payment options to include electronic payment of fees.
  • Provide for reasonable steps to include the review of publicly available, open source information to authenticate the identity of the broker.
  • Require that customs business may be conducted only within the customs territory of the United States.
  • Provide for the storage of electronic customs records within the customs territory of the United States

FEE UPDATED CALENDAR YEAR 2020

Effective October 1, 2020 the COBRA Fee for permits (USER FEE) is $150.33 (was $147.89).
Effective January 1, 2019, the broker application finger printing fee is $11.25 (was $10.00).

Broker Management Officer (BMO) Contact Information

BMO Contacts

Port Code

Port Name

Broker Management Officer

BMO Phone Number

BMO Email

Mailing Address

Assistant Center Director

Agriculture and Prepared Products Center

0101

Portland, ME

John Dobbs

(207) 771-3607

john.l.dobbs@cbp.dhs.gov

155 Gannett Drive, South Portland, ME 04106

Israel Adame

2604

Nogales, AZ

Leticia Estrada

(520) 397-2067

leticia.m.estrada@cbp.dhs.gov

200 N Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621

Gary Melofchik

3304

Great Falls, MT

Leticia Estrada

(520) 397-2067

leticia.m.estrada@cbp.dhs.gov

200 N Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621

Gary Melofchik

Apparel, Footwear and Textiles

1401

Norfolk, VA

Deborah Miller 

(757) 533-4238

deborah.miller@cbp.dhs.gov

101 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510

Mitchel Landau

1601

Charleston, SC

Qumyka Howell

(718) 487-5118

qumyka.howell@cbp.dhs.gov

200 E Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Mitchel Landau

2704

LA/LB, CA

Tuyen Pham

(562) 366-5420

tuyen.pham@cbp.dhs.gov

301 E Ocean Blvd., Ste 900, Long Beach, CA 90802

James Snider

3701

Milwaukee, WI

Marcia Clark

(414) 486-7790  x2021

marcia.clark@cbp.dhs.gov

4915 S Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207

Alice Buchanan

5201

Miami, FL

Benito Montero

(305) 869-2646

benito.montero@cbp.dhs.gov

6601 NW 25th Street, Miami, FL 33122

Mitchel Landau

Automotive and Aerospace Center

1001

New York, NY

Alicia Edmondson

(718) 487-5076

alicia.j.edmondson@cbp.dhs.gov

John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, Building 77, 2nd Floor, Executive Office, Jamaica, NY 11430

Lucy Guardiola

1303

Baltimore, MD

Russell Morris

(410) 962-2869

russell.r.morris@cbp.dhs.gov

40 S Gay Street, Baltimore,  MD 21202

Judy Staudt

1901

Mobile, AL

Engrid Perryman

(251) 378-7622

engrid.e.perryman@cbp.dhs.gov

150 N. Royal Street, Suite 3004, Mobile, AL 36602

Lucy Guardiola

3001

Seattle, WA

Juan Valenzuela

(520) 397-2065

juan.c.valenzuela@cbp.dhs.gov

1000 Second Avenue, Suite 2100, Seattle, WA 98104

Lucy Guardiola

3401

Pembina, ND

Lisa Thorlakson

(701) 825-5870

lisa.a.thorlakson@cbp.dhs.gov

10980 I-29, Suite 2, Pembina, ND 58271

Lucy Guardiola

3501

Minneapolis, MN

Cathy Moretton

(952) 857-3180

cathy.a.moretton@cbp.dhs.gov

5600 American Blvd. W, Ste. 760, Bloomington, MN 55437

Serina Baker-Hill

3801

Detroit, MI

Erma Gonzalez

(313) 442-0267

erma.gonzalez-upshaw@cbp.dhs.gov

2801 B. West Fort Street, Suite 123, Detroit, MI 48216

Serina Baker-Hill

Base Metals Center

2002

New Orleans, LA

Tammy Urban

(504) 670-2359

tammy.w.urban@cbp.dhs.gov

423 Canal Street, Room 251 New Orleans, LA 70130

Tracy Roy

3901

Chicago, IL

Mary Lou Belfiore

(847) 928-6072

mary.lou.belfiore@cbp.dhs.gov

5600 Pearl Street, Rosemont, IL 60018

Ed Wachovec

4101

Cleveland, OH

Michelle English

(440) 891-2531

michelle.d.english@cbp.dhs.gov

6747 Engle Road Cleveland, OH 44130

Michael Dean

Consumer Products and Mass Merchandising Center

0502

Providence, RI

Lydia Wells

(617) 565-4615

lydia.j.wells@cbp.dhs.gov

300 Jefferson Blvd., Suite 106, Warwick, RI, 02888

Paul Sumbi

1512

Charlotte, NC

Thomas E. Rice

(704)329-6142

thomas.e.rice@cbp.dhs.gov

1901 Crossbeam Drive, Charlotte, NC 28217

Linda Golf

1704

Atlanta, GA

Danny Griffin

(404) 675-1266

danny.r.griffin@cbp.dhs.gov

157 Tradeport Drive, Atlanta, GA 30354

Linda Golf

1801

Tampa, FL

Frank Mahoney

(813) 241-6743  x242

francis.p.mahoney@cbp.dhs.gov

1803 Eastport Drive, Tampa, Florida 33605

Linda Golf

3201

Honolulu, HI

Susan Kakuda

(808) 356-4155

susan.t.kakuda@cbp.dhs.gov

300 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96850

Linda Golf

4503

St. Louis, MO

Lenora Damper 

(314) 428-2662 x210

lenora.d.damper@cbp.dhs.gov

4477 Woodson Road, St. Louis, MO 63134

Paul Sumbi

5501

Dallas/Ft Worth, TX

Jennifer Thompson

(972) 870-7537

jennifer.thompson@cbp.dhs.gov

7501 Esters Blvd., Suite 160, Irving, TX 75063

Paul Sumbi

Electronics Center

2809

San Francisco, CA

Patricia Chapman

(415) 782-9410

patricia.a.chapman@cbp.dhs.gov

555 Battery Street, San Francisco, CA 94111

Yolanda Benitez

3126

Anchorage, AK

Patricia Chapman

(415) 782-9410

patricia.a.chapman@cbp.dhs.gov

605 W 4th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501

Yolanda Benitez

Industrial & Manufacturing Materials Center

0712

Champlain, NY

Diane Ashline

(518) 298-8361

diane.n.ashline@cbp.dhs.gov

237 W Service Road, Champlain, NY 12919

Camille Madsen

0901

Buffalo, NY

John Walkowiak

(716) 843-8301

john.f.walkowiak@cbp.dhs.gov

726 Exchange Street, Suite 400, Buffalo, NY 14210

Robert Bekalarski

1703

Savannah, GA

Bobbie Alston

(912) 447-9431

bobbie.a.alston@cbp.dhs.gov

1 E Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401

Jonathan Erece

Machinery Center

5401

Washington, DC

Bernadette R. Howe

(215) 717-5818

bernadette.r.howe@cbp.dhs.gov

22685 Holiday Park Drive, Suite 15, Sterling, VA 20598

Fred Perez

1101

Philadelphia, PA

Bernadette R. Howe

(215) 717-5818

bernadette.r.howe@cbp.dhs.gov

200 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Fred Perez

2304

Laredo, TX

Leticia Benavides

(956) 794-9305

leticia.benavides@cbp.dhs.gov

715 Bob Bullock Loop, Laredo, TX 78045

Fred Perez

2904

Portland, OR

Christian Garcia 

(503) 326-3031

christian.garcia@cbp.dhs.gov

8337 NE Alderwood Road, Portland, OR 97220 

Fred Perez

Petroleum, Natural Gas and Minerals Center

0201

St. Albans, VT

Suzanne Vogan

(617) 565-6140

suzanne.m.vogan@cbp.dhs.gov

50 S. Main Street, Suite 100R, St. Albans, VT 05478

Thomas Kendrick

0401

Boston, MA

Suzanne Vogan

(617) 565-6140

suzanne.m.vogan@cbp.dhs.gov

10 Causeway Street, Boston, MA 02222

Kristi Johnson

5301

Houston, TX

Shelley Wise

(504) 670-2317

shelley.y.wise@cbp.dhs.gov

2350 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Suite 900, Houston, TX 77032 

Kristi Johnson

Pharmaceuticals, Health and Chemicals Center

2006

Memphis, TN

David R. Gault

(901) 480-4032

david.r.gault@cbp.dhs.gov

2813 Business Park Dr., Building 1, Memphis, TN 38118

Diane Amstutz

2402

El Paso, TX

Lily Galvan

(915) 730-7272          

lilia.galvan@cbp.dhs.gov

9400 Viscount Blvd., El Paso, TX 79925

Diane Amstutz

2506

Otay Mesa, CA

Frank Uotani

(619) 671-8030

frank.k.uotani@cbp.dhs.gov

9777 Via De La Amistad, San Diego, CA 92154

Lisa Santana Fox

San Juan Field Office

4909

San Juan, PR

Sheila Maldonado 

(787) 729-6994

sheila.maldonado@cbp.dhs.gov

State Rd 165 Kilometer 1.2, Guaynabo, PR 00968

Mayra Claudio