US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Focused Assessment (FA) Program

The Focused Assessment (FA) Program is a comprehensive audit that involves an assessment of the importer's internal control over its import activities, to determine if the importer poses an acceptable risk for complying with CBP laws and regulations.  The FA is comprised of three possible phases:

  • Pre-Assessment Survey (PAS)
  • Assessment Compliance Testing (ACT)
  • Follow-Up Audit

Focused Assessment Documents:


Last modified: 
August 21, 2019