Skip to main content

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

  1. Home
  2. Trade
  3. NAFTA: A Guide to Customs Procedures

NAFTA: A Guide to Customs Procedures

North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) established a free-trade zone in North America; it was signed in 1992 by Canada, Mexico, and the United States and took effect on Jan. 1, 1994. NAFTA immediately lifted tariffs on the majority of goods produced by the signatory nations. It also calls for the gradual elimination, over a period of 15 years, of most remaining barriers to cross-border investment and to the movement of goods and services among the three countries.


Chapter 1 - Description of the NAFTA

Chapter 2 - Rules of Origin

Chapter 3 - Other Instances to Confer Origin

Chapter 4 - Other Provisions Relating to Origin

Chapter 5 - Provisions for Specific Sectors

Chapter 6 - Certificate of Origin

Chapter 7 - Entry Procedures

Chapter 8 - Origin Verifications

Chapter 9 - Penalties

Chapter 10 - Denial of Benefits

Chapter 11 - Advance Ruling Procedures

Chapter 12 - Appeal Procedures

Chapter 13 - Country of Origin Marking

Chapter 14 - Effect of the NAFTA

Chapter 15 - Contacts for Additional Assistance

NAFTA: A Guide to Customs Procedures (Complete Document)

Last Modified: Dec 10, 2021