Skip to main content

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

  1. Home
  2. Newsroom
  3. Local Media Release
  4. Rio Grande Valley Sector Hosts “Head of the Class” Ceremony

Rio Grande Valley Sector Hosts “Head of the Class” Ceremony

Release Date
Thu, 04/15/2021

EDINBURG, Texas —On Thursday, April 15, 2021, the United States Border Patrol Rio Grande Valley (RGV) Sector hosted their fourth Head of the Class Ceremony for the 2020-2021 school year.  Due to COVID-19 restrictions the ceremony was conducted virtually. This event, which is hosted four times a year, highlights distinguished students enrolled at various school districts throughout the Rio Grande Valley.

RGV Sector Border Patrol Deputy Chief Joel Martinez addressed the Head of the Class honorees from 17 high schools from the eastern portion of the Rio Grande Valley. The 17 students are eligible to receive a scholarship presented at the annual Youth of the Year Awards Ceremony.

Brownsville Police Chief Felix Sauceda was the keynote speaker for the event.  Chief Sauceda congratulated the students on their outstanding academic achievements, service to community, and delivered an inspirational message to the students.

Head of the Class Recipients:

Jocelyn Thomas – Brownsville Early College High School

Ashley Armendariz – Gladys Porter Early College High School

John Rios – Hanna Early College High School

Angela Arevalo – James Pace Early College High School

Jaydy Valdez – Lopez Early College High School

Jasmin Aquines – Simon Rivera Early College High School

Liza Cisneros – Veterans Memorial Early College High School

Valerie Martinez – Harlingen Early College High School

Milca Montanez – Harlingen High School

Abbeny Solis – Harlingen High School South

Kiara Garcia – Los Fresnos High School

Cole Pinkerton – Port Isabel High School

Brandon Nunez – Raymondville Early College High School

Mia Zuniga – Rio Hondo High School

Naydelin Garza Jimenez – San Benito High School

Damian Maldonado – San Perlita High School

Filanicas Zavala – Santa Maria High School

Please visit to view additional news releases and other information pertaining to Customs and Border Protection. Follow us at @CBPRGV

Last Modified: Apr 15, 2021