Skip to main content

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

  1. Home
  2. Newsroom
  3. Local Media Release
  4. Border Patrol Hosts Annual Youth of the Year Scholarship Award Ceremony

Border Patrol Hosts Annual Youth of the Year Scholarship Award Ceremony

Release Date
Wed, 06/16/2021

EDINBURG, Texas —On Tuesday, June 15, 2021, Rio Grande Valley Border Patrol Sector (RGV) virtually hosted the Youth of the Year Scholarship Ceremony for the 2020-2021 school year. Each school year, 62 high school counselors nominate a graduating senior to represent their high school as the “Head of the Class”. Students are nominated for this award based of their academic achievements, community service, extracurricular activities. “Head of the Class” recipients are then eligible to become a Youth of the Year awardee and receive a scholarship.

Each Youth of the Year scholar will receive a scholarship worth $1,500. These scholarships are possible due to partnerships with several RGV businesses such as AEP, RGV BUICK and GMC Dealers, Shah Eye Center, Nustar, HEB, IBC Bank, River Rock Real Estate, JBC General Contracting, and RGV Partnership. Region One Education Service Center is in charge of distributing funds to the winners. 

In addition to contributing to the Youth of the Year scholarship, Shah Eye Center also donated a free eye corrective surgery, as part of their Visionary Award to a deserving educator.  The winner was nominated by her colleagues for her dedicated commitment to her students and school.

RGV Chief Patrol Agent Brian S. Hastings addressed the eight “Youth of the Year” honorees, school representatives, and family in attendance. Chief Hastings congratulated the students on their outstanding academic achievements, service to community, and delivered an inspirational message to the students on continuing their education beyond high school and into college.

Youth of the Year Scholarship Recipients:

Noel Guerra, Jr.- Juarez Lincoln High School

Karina Perez-San Isidro High School

Natali Acha-PSJA Memorial Early College High School

Alyssa Trejo-Robert Vela High School

Daniel Kim-South Texas ISD Science Academy

Ernesto Moreno-Edcouch-Elsa High School

Abbeny Solis-Harlingen High School South

Ashley Armendariz-Gladys Porter Early College High School

Please visit to view additional news releases and other information pertaining to Customs and Border Protection. Follow us at @CBPRGV

Last Modified: Jun 16, 2021