US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Archived Content

In an effort to keep current, the archive contains content from a previous administration or is otherwise outdated.

Keep Those Votes Coming

Release Date: 
May 27, 2020

CBP Scientists Secure Top 12 Spot in People’s Choice Contest

Two CBP scientists from Operations Support’s Laboratories and Scientific Services, the agency’s Chicago Laboratory were selected earlier this month as Emerging Leaders finalists in the 2020 Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medals. Now, Andrew Laurence and Shannon Ferguson have secured top 12 spots in an additional award category, the People’s Choice Winner. More commonly called the “Sammies” and known as the “Oscars” of government service, the awards recognize excellence in the federal workforce and inspire other talented and dedicated individuals to go into public service.

Andrew Laurence, Ph.D. and Shannon Ferguson, Ph.D. (CBP Photos)
Andrew Laurence, Ph.D. and Shannon Ferguson, Ph.D.

CBP Photos

In their role with CBP, Laurence and Ferguson, pollen analysis experts in the federal government’s only forensic palynology program, analyze pollen and spores that provide critical clues to solving and understanding crime. Additionally, the information gathered assists law enforcement authorities in prosecuting hundreds of criminals.

CBP is asking for your continued vote to propel Laurence and Ferguson closer to garnering an additional recognition as the People’s Choice Winner.

Beginning today, the selectees will be reduced to five finalists based on votes received by June 10 at 8:59 p.m. EDT. The final round of voting runs June 10 through June 26 at 8:59 p.m. EDT and determines the 2020 People’s Choice Winner.

Vote for Laurence and Ferguson through June 26 at 8:59 p.m. EDT. You may cast your vote once every 24 hours.

Last modified: 
February 3, 2021