U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

  1. Home
  2. Newsroom
  3. Local Media Release
  4. Laredo Sector Border Patrol Selects The 2019 - 2020 Youth of the Year

Laredo Sector Border Patrol Selects The 2019 - 2020 Youth of the Year

Release Date

LAREDO, TEXAS – Janae Krysta Noriega, a senior at United South High School (USHS), was selected as the Laredo Sector Border Patrol Youth of the Year for 2019 - 2020.  Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Laredo Sector Border Patrol hosted the ceremony at the headquarters office.  Laredo Sector Chief Patrol Agent Felix Chavez made the announcement in a virtual ceremony that included Janae’s family.

Janae plans to attend the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, where she will pursue a degree in Biomedical Science, and eventually, transfer to the Baylor School of Medicine to become a Doctor of Medicine.  She wants to return to Laredo to be a family physician.  At USHS, she was the vice president of the National Honor Society, team captain of the USHS Science Team, and president of the USHS Science Club.  She was also a member of various other clubs and UIL academic teams.

The Youth of the Year ceremony culminates the Youth of the Month program that recognizes one student each month during the academic year from each of Laredo’s 11 area high schools.  Students are selected for the honor based on academic achievement, community involvement, and demonstration of their dedication to succeed.

Laredo Sector Border Patrol agents established the Youth of the Year program as an effort to recognize youths for their outstanding achievements.  Community partners play an integral role in the Border Patrol Youth of the Month program demonstrating their commitment and dedication to supporting education by highlighting Laredo’s young leaders. 

Community partners provided Janae with various awards and gifts in honor of her selection as Youth of the Year.  Dr. Marcus Hinojosa donated a $1,000 scholarship. Dr. Sara Campos, the Blue Knights Law Enforcement Motorcycle Club, Outlet Shoppes of Laredo, and Area Health Education Center (AHEC) each gave $500 scholarships.  Joe Jackson Funeral Chapels gave a $150 scholarship.  Chick-fil-A donated a $100 Chick Fil-A gift card and a plaque.  McDonald’s provided a gift basket that included a $50 gift card.  Sames Auto Arena gave tickets to a future event.  Ashley Furniture Homestore contributed a $200 Visa gift card, L&F Distributors gave four cases of Nestle products, Rock Fitness Gym gave a one-year free membership, Laser Carwash gave 20 free carwashes, and Awardmasterz donated a beautiful Texas-shaped plaque.  Dr. CC’s Tooth Factory Pediatric Specialists gave a Burst Electric Toothbrush and Captured by Claudia Photograph will provide a full photo session that includes prints.  Laredo FOX/Univision Laredo gave a $50 gift card and gift bag.

Senator Ted Cruz, U.S. Congressman Henry Cuellar, Texas Senator Judith Zaffirini, State Representative Richard Raymond, and State Representative Tracy O. King each gave a framed certificate recognizing Janae as the Youth of the Year.

2020 marks the 33rd year Laredo Sector Border Patrol has celebrated the Youth of the Year.


Youth of the Year Selected
Laredo Sector Border Patrol Chief Patrol Agent Felix Chavez announces the
2019 - 2020 Border Patrol Youth of the Year,
Janae Krysta Noriega Salutatorian United South High School




  • Last Modified: February 3, 2021