Effective January 1, 2006, U.S. Customs
and Border Protection (CBP) has imple-
mented enhanced security procedures
for small boat arrivals. This increased
enforcement posture requires physical
reporting to designated local CBP offices
when returning from foreign ports or
locations for a face-to-face inspection,
unless enrolled in an Alternative Inspec-
tion Services Program that would allow
arrival reporting by phone.

Arrivals requiring an in-person report to

a CBP Officer may be made at any of the
following designated ports of entry. The
boat must be made available for possible
boarding at the time of report.

If you need to leave your vessel to report
your arrival, only the master or designee
may go ashore to do so. After making
notification to CBP, this individual must
return to the vessel and remain onboard
until CBP arrives.

Designated Ports of Entry
for Private Boat Operators

Monterey, CA (408) 291-7388
CBP Hours of operation: 0700-2400 (M-Sat)
(San Jose Airport)

Designated Marina: Monterey Harbor**

San Francisco/Oakland, CA  (510) 273-4336 ext 209
0800-1630 (M-F)
Designated Marina: Jack London Square Harbor**

CBP Hours of operation:

Eureka, CA (707) 442-4822
0830-1630 (M-F)
Designated Marina: Humbolt Bay Marina**

CBP Hours of operation:

**If you intend on clearing Customs and Border Pro-
tection at any of these ports after normal business
hours or over a weekend, you are required to have
an appointment. Contact the local CBP Office and a
U.S. Customs and Border Protection Duty Officer will
provide further instructions regarding reporting and

entry processing.

Failure to report can result in civil penal-
ties as defined in Title 19, United States
Code, Section 1436 to include a penalty
of $5,000 for the first violation and
$10,000 for each subsequent violation
with the conveyance subject to seizure
and forfeiture. In addition to being liable
for a civil penalty, any master who inten-
tionally commits a violation under sub-
section (a) of this section upon conviction
is liable for a fine of not more than
$2,000 or imprisonment for 1 year or
both.

All documented or registered vessels 30
feet in length or greater are required
to purchase a User Fee Decal ($25.00) if
crossing the international border.

Decals may also be purchased prior to
departure via the Internet at:

https://tradelinks4.mellon.com/cbp/Dispatcher
Additional CBP information can be

located at:

www.cbp.gov



Reporting Suspicious
Activities

Please report any suspicious activities observed
to 1-800-BE-ALERT or to the after hours toll-free
number 1-800-562-5943.

Have a Safe and
Enjoyable Boating Season!

U.S. Customs and
Border Protection

1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, Room 5.3A
Washington, DC 20229
1-877-CBP-5511
(202) 354-1000

www.cbp.gov
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