
Notice to 
Pleasure Boat 
Operators
Pleasure Boat Reporting 

Requirements for the Area 

Port of Houston/Galveston Texas

Required Reporting Information

n	 Vessel Name, Length, and Flag.

n	 Registration Number, Make, Model, 

Year, and Color.

n	 Arrival Date, Time, and Location.

n	 User Fee Decal Number, required for 

private vessels 30 feet or more in 

length.

n	 Master, Crew and Passengers’ 

Full Name, Date of Birth, Passport 

Number, and Address.

To purchase a user fee decal login to 

www.cbp.gov and click on travel.

Failure to Report

Can result in civil penalties as defined 

in Title 19, United States Code, Section 

1436 to include a penalty of $5,000 for 

the first violation and $10,000 for each 

subsequent violation with the    conveyance 

subject to seizure and forfeiture.

Office of Field Operations 
1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW 

Washington, DC 20229

Report Suspicious Activities at
1-800-BE ALERT

CBP Publication No. 0002-0013
September 2007



Reporting Requirements
n	 All U.S. Citizens and Aliens seeking entry to 

the United States must report their arrival.

n	 Masters must report their arrival immediately 
to CBP after having been at any foreign port 
or place or after having contact with any 
hovering vessel.

n	 This requirement applies to all boats 
regardless of country of registration.

Reporting Procedures
n	 Master or designee may go ashore only to 

report the arrival to CBP.

n	 No other person may leave or board the 
boat and no baggage or merchandise may be 
removed.

n	 The boat must be made available for possible 
boarding at the time of report.

n	 Boaters will be directed to present themselves 
and any passengers for a face-to-face 
interview.

Reporting Locations

Houston/Galveston
Pleasure boats destined for any location in the 
Counties of Harris or Galveston.

n	 Dock at Galveston Yacht Basin Fuel Dock, 
telephone number 409-762-9689.

n	 Report  arrival to CBP Port Office:  
601 Rosenberg Street 
Galveston, Texas 77550 
Monday–Sunday from 6:00 am–10:00 pm at 
409-766-3581. 
After hours call 713-454-8002 or  
1 (800) 973-2867.

Freeport
Pleasure boats destined for any location in the 
Counties of Brazoria and Matagorda.

n	 Dock at the Bridge Harbor Marina Fuel Dock, 
telephone number 979-233-2101.

n	 Report arrival to CBP Port Office: 
575 Pete Schaff Blvd. 
Freeport, Texas 77541 
Monday–Friday from 8:00 am–5:00 pm at 
(979) 233-3004. 
After hours call 713-454-8002 or  
1 (800) 973-2867.

Corpus Christi
n	 Dock at Corpus Christi Municipal Marina, 

telephone number (361) 826-3980.

n	 Report arrival to CBP Port Office: 
555 N. Carancahua Street, Suite #570 
Corpus Christi, Texas 78478 
Monday–Friday from 8:00 am–4:00pm at 
(361) 888-3352. 
After hours call 1 (800) 973-2867.

Port Arthur
n	 Dock at the Sabine Coast Guard Station, 

telephone number (409) 971-2196.

n	 Report arrival to CBP Port Office: 
4550 Jimmy Johnson Blvd., Suite #1 
Port Arthur, Texas 77642 
Monday–Friday from 8:00am–4:00pm at 
(409) 727-0285. 
After hours call 1 (800) 973-2867.

Currency Reporting Requirements
It is legal to transport any amount of currency 
or other monetary instruments into or out of the 
United States. However, if you transport, attempt 
to transport, or cause to be transported currency 
or other monetary instruments in an aggregate 
amount exceeding $10,000 (or its foreign 
equivalent) at one time from the United States 
to any foreign place, or into the United States 
from any foreign place, you must file a report 
with U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP). 
This report is called the Report of International  
Transportation of Currency or Monetary Instruments, 
FinCEN Form 105. 

Prohibited and Restricted Items
n	 Cultural Artifacts and Cultural Property

n	 Drug Paraphernalia

n	 Firearms

n	 Fish and Wildlife

n	 Food Products

n	 Fruits and Vegetables

n	 Meats, Livestock, and Poultry

n	 Game and Hunting Trophies

n	 Plants and Seeds

n	 For an all inclusive list, logon to www.cbp.gov 
and click on the travel section. 


