Customs Brokers

New Webpage Alert

Please see our new Customs Broker Modernization page for more information and upcoming webinars.


Customs Brokers and Customs Broker License applicants should refer to this webpage for information and announcements. The statutory authority for the licensing of customs brokers by the Secretary of the Treasury is found in section 641, Tariff Act of 1930, as amended (19 U.S.C. 1641). Rules and regulations related to the licensing of customs brokers are set forth in Part 111 of the CBP Regulations (19 C.F.R. 111.0, et seq.). Licenses are issued to persons (i.e., individuals, corporations, partnerships, and associations) to conduct "customs business" on behalf of other persons.

General CBLE Information

CBLE Information

CBLE Score Notification Letters and Appeal Due Dates

The bi-annual Customs Broker License Exam (CBLE) is administered on the fourth Wednesday of April and October.  Exam Results Letters are emailed to examinees within two weeks from the date of the exam. First Appeals are due no later than 60 days from the date the Exam Results Letters were sent. Second Appeals are due no later than 60 days from the date the First Appeal Results Letters were sent.

Pass Rate Information

The October 26, 2022 CBLE resulted in a 11.1% pass rate prior to appeal decisions. 

The April 27, 2022 CBLE resulted in a 39.6% pass rate prior to appeal decisions.

Broker Exam Questions

CBP welcomes the submittal of new questions for future broker exams.  Please submit your questions to brokermanagement@cbp.dhs.gov with "Future Exam Questions" in the subject line. 

Licensed Customs brokers play a critical role in protecting the revenue and facilitating the movement of compliant cargo. U.S. Customs and Border Protection published the Broker Continuing Education Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) 86 FR 50794 in the Federal Register on Friday, September 10, 2021. In this NPRM, CBP proposes a mandatory continuing education requirement for individual licensed brokers.  This proposal is a key step forward to providing a program that can serve both government and industry, with an intended goal of raising the credibility and value of the broker’s license and profession.

Please see the posting for 86 FR 50794.

The Customs broker regulations in part 111 of title 19 of the Code of Federal Regulations (19 CFR 111) have been subject to review by the broker community, CBP, and the Commercial Customs Operations Advisory Council (COAC) for several years. During this time, CBP solicited feedback from the trade community through webinars, port meetings and trade association meetings, aiming to promote transparency and collaboration while modernizing regulations to reflect the role of the broker in today’s business environment.  

In the April 2016 COAC public meeting, the COAC Broker Regulations Working Group (BRWG) made 37 recommendations to modernize 19 CFR 111. The COAC BRWG included participants from the trade community and CBP representatives. BRWG Recommendations focused on the following areas: the evolving role of the broker; confidentiality, cybersecurity and record retention; responsible supervision and control and employee reporting; and licensing and permits. Included in those recommendations were a proposed single, national permit for brokers, as well as electronic process changes.  

The two Notices of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRMs), published June 5, 2020, reflected many of these recommendations and proposed changes to align the broker regulations with contemporary business practices in the electronic environment. Considering the proposed changes and public comments received in response to the NPRMs, CBP published two Final Rules on October 18, 2022, Modernization of the Customs Broker Regulations (87 FR 63267) and Elimination of Customs Broker District Permit Fee (87 FR 63262). These rules modernize the customs broker regulations and provide resource optimization for both industry and CBP and will update compliance requirements to protect revenue and strengthen CBP’s knowledge of importers.  

Key changes in the Final Rules include:

  • Creating a new term and definition for "Processing Center" 
  • Transitioning to a national permit framework
  • Increasing license application fees and expanding forms of payment
  • Codifying that U.S. customs business is conducted within the U.S. customs territory 
  • Revising regulations regarding the broker/client relationship 
  • Updating the responsible supervision and control oversight framework 
  • Strengthening cyber security and records requirements
  • Modernizing broker reporting and Automated Commercial Environment (ACE) capabilities through the broker account portal 
  • Changing broker exam and licensing processes 

For more information on the Customs Broker Modernization Regulations 19 CFR 111 click HERE.

For frequently asked questions on the Customs Broker Modernization Regulations 19 CFR 111 click HERE.

FEE UPDATED CALENDAR YEAR 2022

Effective October 1, 2022, the COBRA Fee for permits (USER FEE) is $163.71 (was $153.19)
Effective October 1, 2022, the broker application finger printing fee remains $11.25

BMO Contacts

Port Code

Port Name

Broker Management Officer

BMO Phone Number

BMO Email

Mailing Address

Assistant Center Director

Agriculture and Prepared Products Center

0101

Portland, ME

John Dobbs

(207) 771-3607

john.l.dobbs@cbp.dhs.gov

155 Gannett Drive, South Portland, ME 04106

Israel Adame

2604

Nogales, AZ

Leticia Estrada

(520) 397-2067

leticia.m.estrada@cbp.dhs.gov

200 N Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621

Gary Melofchik

3304

Great Falls, MT

Leticia Estrada

(520) 397-2067

leticia.m.estrada@cbp.dhs.gov

200 N Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621

Gary Melofchik

Apparel, Footwear and Textiles

1401

Norfolk, VA

Deborah Miller 

(757) 533-4238

deborah.miller@cbp.dhs.gov

101 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510

Mitchel Landau

1601

Charleston, SC

Qumyka Howell

(718) 487-5118

qumyka.howell@cbp.dhs.gov

200 E Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Mitchel Landau

2704

LA/LB, CA

Tuyen Pham

(562) 366-5420

tuyen.pham@cbp.dhs.gov

301 E Ocean Blvd., Ste 900, Long Beach, CA 90802

James Snider

3701

Milwaukee, WI

Marcia Clark

(414) 486-7790  x2021

marcia.clark@cbp.dhs.gov

4915 S Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207

Alice Buchanan

5201

Miami, FL

Benito Montero

(305) 869-2646

benito.montero@cbp.dhs.gov

6601 NW 25th Street, Miami, FL 33122

Mitchel Landau

Automotive and Aerospace Center

1001

New York, NY

Paula Welch

(810) 985-7125 

Extension 8003

paula.a.welch@cbp.dhs.gov

John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, Building 77, 2nd Floor, Executive Office, Jamaica, NY 11430

Lucy Guardiola

1303

Baltimore, MD

Daniel Williams

(410) 962-8162

daniel.e.williams@cbp.dhs.gov

40 S Gay Street, Baltimore,  MD 21202

Christina Laurin

1901

Mobile, AL

Engrid Perryman

(251) 378-7622

engrid.e.perryman@cbp.dhs.gov

150 N. Royal Street, Suite 3004, Mobile, AL 36602

Lucy Guardiola

3001

Seattle, WA

Juan Valenzuela

(520) 397-2065

juan.c.valenzuela@cbp.dhs.gov

1000 Second Avenue, Suite 2100, Seattle, WA 98104

Lucy Guardiola

3401

Pembina, ND

Lisa Thorlakson

(701) 825-5870

lisa.a.thorlakson@cbp.dhs.gov

10980 I-29, Suite 2, Pembina, ND 58271

Lucy Guardiola

3501

Minneapolis, MN

Cathy Moretton

(952) 857-3180

cathy.a.moretton@cbp.dhs.gov

5600 American Blvd. W, Ste. 760, Bloomington, MN 55437

Serina Baker-Hill

3801

Detroit, MI

Erma Gonzalez

(313) 442-0267

erma.gonzalez-upshaw@cbp.dhs.gov

2801 B. West Fort Street, Suite 123, Detroit, MI 48216

Serina Baker-Hill

Base Metals Center

2002

New Orleans, LA

Tammy Urban

(504) 670-2359

tammy.w.urban@cbp.dhs.gov

423 Canal Street, Room 251 New Orleans, LA 70130

Tracy Roy

3901

Chicago, IL

Mary Lou Belfiore

(847) 928-6072

mary.lou.belfiore@cbp.dhs.gov

5600 Pearl Street, Rosemont, IL 60018

Ed Wachovec

4101

Cleveland, OH

Michelle English

(440) 891-2531

michelle.d.english@cbp.dhs.gov

6747 Engle Road Cleveland, OH 44130

Michael Dean

Consumer Products and Mass Merchandising Center

0502

Providence, RI

Lydia Wells

(617) 565-4615

lydia.j.wells@cbp.dhs.gov

300 Jefferson Blvd., Suite 106, Warwick, RI, 02888

Paul Sumbi

1512

Charlotte, NC

Thomas E. Rice

(704)329-6142

thomas.e.rice@cbp.dhs.gov

1901 Crossbeam Drive, Charlotte, NC 28217

Linda Golf

1704

Atlanta, GA

Danny Griffin

(404) 675-1266

danny.r.griffin@cbp.dhs.gov

157 Tradeport Drive, Atlanta, GA 30354

Linda Golf

1801

Tampa, FL

Frank Mahoney

(813) 241-6743  x242

francis.p.mahoney@cbp.dhs.gov

1803 Eastport Drive, Tampa, Florida 33605

Linda Golf

3201

Honolulu, HI

Susan Kakuda

(808) 356-4155

susan.t.kakuda@cbp.dhs.gov

300 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96850

Linda Golf

4503

St. Louis, MO

Lenora Damper 

(314) 428-2662 x210

lenora.d.damper@cbp.dhs.gov

4477 Woodson Road, St. Louis, MO 63134

Paul Sumbi

5501

Dallas/Ft Worth, TX

Jennifer Thompson

(972) 870-7537

jennifer.thompson@cbp.dhs.gov

7501 Esters Blvd., Suite 160, Irving, TX 75063

Paul Sumbi

Electronics Center

2809

San Francisco, CA

Patricia Chapman

(415) 782-9410

patricia.a.chapman@cbp.dhs.gov

555 Battery Street, San Francisco, CA 94111

Yolanda Benitez

3126

Anchorage, AK

Patricia Chapman

(415) 782-9410

patricia.a.chapman@cbp.dhs.gov

605 W 4th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501

Yolanda Benitez

Industrial & Manufacturing Materials Center

0712

Champlain, NY

Diane Ashline

(518) 298-8361

diane.n.ashline@cbp.dhs.gov

237 W Service Road, Champlain, NY 12919

Camille Madsen

0901

Buffalo, NY

John Walkowiak

(716) 843-8301

john.f.walkowiak@cbp.dhs.gov

726 Exchange Street, Suite 400, Buffalo, NY 14210

Robert Bekalarski

1703

Savannah, GA

Bobbie Alston

(912) 447-9431

bobbie.a.alston@cbp.dhs.gov

1 E Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401

Jonathan Erece

Machinery Center

5401

Washington, DC

Bernadette R. Howe

(215) 717-5818

bernadette.r.howe@cbp.dhs.gov

22685 Holiday Park Drive, Suite 15, Sterling, VA 20598

Fred Perez

1101

Philadelphia, PA

Bernadette R. Howe

(215) 717-5818

bernadette.r.howe@cbp.dhs.gov

200 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Fred Perez

2304

Laredo, TX

Elida C. Flores

(956) 794-9310

elida.flores@cbp.dhs.gov

715 Bob Bullock Loop, Laredo, TX 78045

Carmen Dickinson

2904

Portland, OR

Christian Garcia 

(503) 326-3031

christian.garcia@cbp.dhs.gov

8337 NE Alderwood Road, Portland, OR 97220 

Fred Perez

Petroleum, Natural Gas and Minerals Center

0201

St. Albans, VT

Deborah Medor

(802) 527-3305

deborah.a.medor@cbp.dhs.gov

50 S. Main Street, Suite 100R, St. Albans, VT 05478

Kristi Johnson

0401

Boston, MA

Suzanne Vogan

(617) 565-6140

suzanne.m.vogan@cbp.dhs.gov

10 Causeway Street, Boston, MA 02222

Kristi Johnson

5301

Houston, TX

Daniel Saunders

(281) 985-6894

daniel.saunders@cbp.dhs.gov

2350 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Suite 900, Houston, TX 77032 

Jeffrey Saum

Pharmaceuticals, Health and Chemicals Center

2006

Memphis, TN

David R. Gault

(901) 480-4032

david.r.gault@cbp.dhs.gov

2813 Business Park Dr., Building 1, Memphis, TN 38118

Diane Amstutz

2402

El Paso, TX

Lily Galvan

(915) 730-7272          

lilia.galvan@cbp.dhs.gov

9400 Viscount Blvd., El Paso, TX 79925

Diane Amstutz

2506

Otay Mesa, CA

Frank Uotani

(619) 671-8030

frank.k.uotani@cbp.dhs.gov

9777 Via De La Amistad, San Diego, CA 92154

Brandy Porter

San Juan Field Office

4909

San Juan, PR

Sheila Maldonado 

(787) 729-6994

sheila.maldonado@cbp.dhs.gov

State Rd 165 Kilometer 1.2, Guaynabo, PR 00968

Mayra Claudio

Tags: 

Source URL: https://www.cbp.gov/trade/programs-administration/customs-brokers