US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Archived Content

In an effort to keep current, the archive contains content from a previous administration or is otherwise outdated.

Leslie Izaguirre Named Youth of the Year for 2016 at Youth Night

Release Date: 
May 12, 2016

LAREDO, TEXAS – Leslie Izaguirre, a senior at Dr. Leo G. Cigarroa High School, was selected as the Laredo Sector Border Patrol Youth of the Year for 2016.  Laredo Sector Border Patrol Assistant Chief Patrol Agent Enrique Martinez made the announcement of the selection by program partners during the 2016 International Bank of Commerce (IBC) Youth Night celebration. 

The Youth of the Year ceremony culminates the Youth of the Month program that recognizes ten students each month from all Laredo area high schools.  Students are selected for the honor based on academic achievement, community involvement and demonstration of their fortitude to succeed.

Laredo Sector Border Patrol Youth of the Year for 2016

Laredo Sector Border Patrol Youth of the Year for 2016

The Youth of the Year was established by Border Patrol as an effort to recognize the youth for their outstanding achievements.  Program partners, such as IBC, play an integral role in the Border Patrol Youth of the Month program, as they reflect the commitment and dedication in supporting education by highlighting Laredo’s young leaders. 

“As we close our Youth of the Month program for this school year, I want to congratulate all the recipients and honorees that were nominated and honored this year. We are grateful for the continued support and commitment of our community partners, without whom the Youth of the Month program would not be successful. I congratulate Ms. Leslie Izaguirre on her selection as Youth of the Year. Her achievements throughout her high school career are noteworthy.   I encourage all of the honorees to reach for greatness through their higher education goals and wish them all the best on their future endeavors,” said Chief Patrol Agent Mario Martinez.  

Community partner IBC hosted the event at their Lago Del Rio facility, and Ms. Izaguirre was honored with a beautiful sash that she will wear on her graduation day. Community partners provided Leslie with various awards for her selection as Youth of the Year. Glen Ruiz from Royal Laser Wash, and Pediatrician Dr. Sara Campos each donated a $1,000 scholarship, Meals 4 lbs. a $500 scholarship, and AHEC gave an undisclosed amount as well. Emperor Garden Restaurant presented the honoree with a MAC Pro Laptop, Laredo Energy Arena gave 2 tickets to the upcoming Mana Concert, and Mattress Firm provided a $1,000 shopping spree. Awardmasterz donated a beautiful plaque that was presented at the ceremony. The honoree will have the opportunity to receive a tour of the Texas State Capitol, where she will be presented on the senate floor and a special reception will be held in her honor by State Senator Judith Zaffirini. This year marks the 29th anniversary of participation by the Laredo Sector Border Patrol.

Last modified: 
February 3, 2021