US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Archived Content

In an effort to keep current, the archive contains content from a previous administration or is otherwise outdated.

Laredo Sector Border Patrol Honors March Youth of the Month

Release Date: 
March 21, 2018

 Laredo, Texas – Celebrating 30 years, The United States Border Patrol Laredo Sector has been recognizing outstanding high school seniors. Youth of the Month Recipients for March were announced at a beautiful ceremony at Cigarroa High School. The Laredo Sector Border Patrol presented seniors from 11 Laredo high schools with the prestigious Youth of the Month Award.

Youth of the Month
Left to Right: Border Patrol Agent, Alonso
Gutierrez; Division Chief Operations, Greg M.
Burwell; Dr. Leonides G. Cigarroa High School- 
Abigail Ramos;Harmony School of Excellence
Science Academy- Arturo Hernandez ; Hector J.
Garcia Early College High School- Ashley
Vazquez; John B. Alexander High School- 
Anissa Bianca Davila; J.W. Nixon High School- 
Natali Ballesteros; Lyndon B. Johnson High
School- Alondra Velarde. Border Patrol Agent
Jose Munoz; Border Patrol Agent Alejandro
De La Rosa. Back Row: R&T Martin High
School- Gerardo I. Moreno; St. Augustine High
School- Alfredo Alejandro Ochoa; Texas
Academy of International and STEM Studies- 
Jordan Perez; United High School- Briana
Gloria Reyes; United South High School- 
Javier De Hoyos Jr.

The Border Patrol Youth of the Month program has recognized Laredo’s top high school seniors for 30 years.  Together, with the collaboration of program partners, one student is selected each month from the Laredo-area high schools as Border Patrol Youth of the Month. At the end of the school year, 11 Youth of the Month recipients are considered for the prestigious Border Patrol Youth of the Year award. Division Chief Greg M. Burwell addressed the Youth of the Month students and provided them with this advice, “If we can find and practice humility then we can overcome anything that life throws at us,” said Division Chief Greg M. Burwell.

The following students were chosen for this award:

March Youth of the Month Recipients:

  • Dr. Leonides G. Cigarroa High School- Abigail Ramos
  • Harmony School of Excellence Science Academy- Arturo Hernandez
  • Hector J. Garcia Early College High School- Ashley Vazquez
  • John B. Alexander High School- Anissa Bianca Davila
  • J.W. Nixon High School- Natali Ballesteros
  • Lyndon B. Johnson High School- Alondra Velarde
  • R&T Martin High School- Gerardo I. Moreno
  • St. Augustine High School- Alfredo Alejandro Ochoa
  • Texas Academy of International and STEM Studies- Jordan Perez
  • United High School- Briana Gloria Reyes
  • United South High School- Javier De Hoyos Jr.
Last modified: 
February 3, 2021