US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Archived Content

In an effort to keep current, the archive contains content from a previous administration or is otherwise outdated.

Laredo Sector Border Patrol Honors December’s Youth of the Month

Release Date: 
December 15, 2016

Laredo, Texas – The Laredo Sector Border Patrol held their Youth of the Month ceremony for December’s honorees at St. Augustine High School.  The Laredo Sector Border Patrol presented seniors from eleven Laredo high schools with the prestigious Youth of the Month Award.

The Border Patrol Youth of the Month program has recognized Laredo’s top high school seniors for 29 years.  Together, with the collaboration of program partners, one student is selected each month from the Laredo-area high schools as Border Patrol Youth of the Month.  At the end of the school year, eleven Youth of the Month recipients are considered for the prestigious Border Patrol Youth of the Year award.

“These students have done so much to help others, I congratulate all of you for your outstanding achievements.  I thank our community partners, the school administrators, principals, teachers, counselors and last but certainly not least, the families of all these honorees.  They did not do this by themselves, it is a collaborative effort,” said Mario Martinez, Laredo Sector Chief Patrol Agent.

December Youth of the Month
Cutline: (Sitting): Dr. Leonides G. Cigarroa High School Regina Abigail Rodriguez; Harmony Science Academy Antonio Garcia;
Hector J. Garcia Early College High School Ashereena F. Tanedo; John B. Alexander High School Alexis M. Coronado;
J. W. Nixon High School Stephanie J. Benavides. (Standing): Chief Patrol Agent Mario Martinez;
Lyndon B. Johnson High School Maria Jacobo; R&T Martin High School Maria Rodriguez;
St. Augustine High School Melissa Marroquin; Texas Academy of International and STEM Studies Samantha Campos;
United High School Michael Chau; United South High School Andrea Miranda; Border Patrol Division Chief, Anthony Scott Good.  


Last modified: 
February 3, 2021