US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Archived Content

In an effort to keep current, the archive contains content from a previous administration or is otherwise outdated.

Explorers Win Multiple Awards in LA

Release Date: 
April 13, 2017

Tucson, Ariz. – Brian A. Terry Border Patrol Station’s Explorer Post won multiple awards in the 6th annual Los Angeles Sheriff’s Department North County Explorer Competition held March 30 to April 3, 2017, in Castaic, California.

Events included: Marijuana Field Raid, Active Shooter, High-Risk Search Warrant, Tactical Emergency Medical Services, Crime Scene Investigation, a 3-mile run and other fitness challenges. The competition also gave explorers an opportunity to build new relationships with explorers from other law enforcement agencies.

Brian A. Terry Explorer team
Brian A. Terry Explorer team

The Brian A. Terry Explorer team captured first place in the active shooter scenario. Explorer Supervisor Erik Estrada walked away with three awards: two for first place finishes in individual events and the Sgt. Steve Owen “Bullfrog” Award, in recognition of being the top explorer overall. Estrada’s name will be engraved on the Sgt. Steve Owen Memorial Trophy and displayed at the Los Angeles Sherriff’s Department in Lancaster, California.

Explorers Alexander Gribble and Travis Habizreuther also placed in the 3-mile run and the rock climbing events, respectively. Patrol Agent in Charge of the station, Michael Hyatt, commended Border Patrol Agent Ana Sofchek, the team’s lead advisor, for her efforts in preparing the team for competition.

The Explorer Program exists to provide youths an opportunity to engage in law enforcement related training and competitions while belonging to an organization that contributes to the betterment of local communities. Many explorers move on to become leaders within their own communities. Some have become military officers or college educated professionals, while others join the United States Border Patrol.

Last modified: 
February 3, 2021