CBP in Vermont Reminds Boaters of Vessel Reporting Procedures
Derby Line, Vt.- U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) in Vermont is again reminding individuals to process small vessel arrivals, including in-person immigration processing during this years boating season. CBP officers will be available to process boaters at Lake Memphremagog, to process small vessel arrivals, and the master or person in charge of the boat must report their arrival to CBP. This means any vessel not engaged in trade, or documented trade such as pleasure boats and yachts, regardless of size and country of registration.
When Reporting Is Required:
- After having visited any foreign port or place;
- After having had contact with any hovering vessel.
Masters, crew and passengers must report their arrival immediately upon entering the United States. Boat owners/operators entering the United States via Lake Memphremagog are reminded that they are responsible for reporting themselves, their crew and their passengers by going to the Newport City Boat Dock to speak to a U.S. Customs and Border Protection Officer or to utilize the Outlying Area Reporting Station (OARS) videophone.
The Master or designee may go ashore only to report their arrival to CBP. No other person may leave or board the boat and no baggage or merchandise may be removed or loaded until the report of arrival is made and release granted by a CBP officer. This includes purchasing fuel from the Newport City Dock prior to reporting.
If all persons on board are in possession of a valid CBP Form I-68 or NEXUS card the Master may report their arrival telephonically by calling (802) 873-3316. The Master will be advised as to whether to report for further inspection to the Newport City dock.
Failure to report can result in civil penalties as defined in Title 19, United States Code, Section 1436 to include a penalty of $5,000 for the first violation and $10,000 for each subsequent violation with the conveyance subject to seizure and forfeiture. In addition to being liable for a civil penalty, any master who intentionally commits a violation under subsection (a) of this section upon conviction is liable for a fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for 1 year or both.
Please note that all documented or registered vessels 30 feet in length or greater are required to pay an annual processing (user fee) of $27.50 in U.S. dollars if crossing the international border.
Decals for vessels may also be purchased via the Internet. For more information, please visit the CBP DTOPS Web site. (CBP DTOPS)
Please report any suspicious activities observed to 1-800-BE-ALERT ((800)232-5378).
U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) is the unified border agency within the Department of Homeland Security charged with the management, control, and protection of our Nation's borders at and between the official ports of entry. CBP is charged with keeping terrorists and terrorist weapons out of the country while enforcing hundreds of U.S. laws.