US flag Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Archived Content

In an effort to keep current, the archive contains content from a previous administration or is otherwise outdated.

CBP Apprehends 17 Undocumented Migrants in Mona Island

Release Date: 
August 6, 2013

AGUADILLA, PUERTO RICO—U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) apprehended 17 undocumented immigrants, 15 citizens of Haiti and 2 citizens of the Dominican Republic yesterday after they landed in Mona Island.

A notification of a possible migrant incursion at Playa Pajaros Mona island by Park Rangers from the Puerto Rico Department of Environmental and Natural Resources alerted Border Patrol, requiring the deployment of a group of agents via a U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) helicopter.

Upon arrival, Border Patrol agents apprehended two men who claimed to be nationals of the Dominican Republic. An extensive search and rescue operation ensued through the inhospitable natural reserve resulting in the apprehension of 15 migrants, 12 males and 3 females, all claiming to be nationals of Haiti. Border Patrol agents administered first aid to a significant number of migrants who had symptoms of dehydration.

In the evening, a USCG cutter transported the group to the Mayaguez Port of Entry for immigration processing by Border Patrol.

The Caribbean Border Interagency Group (CBIG) was formally created to unify efforts of the U.S. Customs and Border Protection, the U.S. Coast Guard, Immigration and Customs Enforcement, the United States Attorney's Office for the District of Puerto Rico, and Puerto Rico Police Joint Forces of Rapid Action (FURA, for its Spanish acronym), in their common goal of securing the borders of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands against illegal migrant and drug smuggling.


Last modified: 
February 3, 2021