Customs Brokers

Customs Brokers and Customs Broker License applicants should refer to this webpage for information and announcements. The statutory authority for the licensing of customs brokers by the Secretary of the Treasury is found in section 641, Tariff Act of 1930, as amended (19 U.S.C. 1641). Rules and regulations related to the licensing of customs brokers are set forth in Part 111 of the CBP Regulations (19 C.F.R. 111.0, et seq.). Licenses are issued to persons (i.e., individuals, corporations, partnerships, and associations) to conduct "customs business" on behalf of other persons.

General CBLE Information

CBLE Information

CBLE Score Notification Letters and Appeal Due Dates

The bi-annual Customs Broker License Exam (CBLE) is administered on the fourth Wednesday of April and October.  Exam Results Letters are emailed to examinees within two weeks from the date of the exam. First Appeals are due no later than 60 days from the date the Exam Results Letters were sent. Second Appeals are due no later than 60 days from the date the First Appeal Results Letters were sent.

Pass Rate Information

The April 27, 2022 CBLE resulted in a 39.6% pass rate prior to appeal decisions.

The October 21, 2021 CBLE resulted in a 23.0% pass rate prior to appeal decisions.

Broker Exam Questions

CBP welcomes the submittal of new questions for future broker exams.  Please submit your questions to brokermanagement@cbp.dhs.gov with "Future Exam Questions" in the subject line.  Select HERE for the Guidelines on writing new questions.

Licensed Customs brokers play a critical role in protecting the revenue and facilitating the movement of compliant cargo. U.S. Customs and Border Protection published the Broker Continuing Education Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) 86 FR 50794 in the Federal Register on Friday, September 10, 2021. In this NPRM, CBP proposes a mandatory continuing education requirement for individual licensed brokers.  This proposal is a key step forward to providing a program that can serve both government and industry, with an intended goal of raising the credibility and value of the broker’s license and profession.

Please see the posting for 86 FR 50794 here.

U.S. Customs and Border Protection announces the publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) for the long-awaited update to 19 CFR 111.  The NPRM for modernization of the Customs broker regulations (85 FR 34836) and elimination of Customs broker district permit fee (85 FR 34549) published June 5, 2020.  The comment period ended August 4, 2020. 

It is suspected this will address many of the Commercial Customs Operations Advisory Committee's (COAC) recommendations. 

Some of the NPRM changes are listed below:

  • Eliminate the “district permit” to move to a national only permit to better reflect the transition to a single permit framework that operates at the national level within the customs territory of the United States – “national permit.”
  • Require brokers to have a single national permit that allows them to have sufficient authority to conduct customs business at the national level within the customs territory of the United States.  This will also eliminate the need for brokers to request permit waivers.
  • Prepare a transition plan to a single national permit.
  • Require brokers to provide satisfactory evidence of how the entity intends to exercise Responsible Supervision and Control.
  • Make enhancement to ACE for broker reporting and Streamline Broker reporting.
  • Update the factors related to Responsible Supervision and Control related to the transition of managing under the national permit that would replace the district permit.
  • Require that the Power of Attorney come directly from the Importer to the Broker.
  • Remove specific dollar fee amounts and reference a single source location for fees allowing greater flexibility.
  • Expand Broker payment options to include electronic payment of fees.
  • Require that customs business may be conducted only within the customs territory of the United States.
  • Provide for the storage of electronic customs records within the customs territory of the United States.
  • Require brokers to provide notification to CBP of any known breach of electronic or physical records relating to the broker’s customs business.

For more information on Modernization of the Customs Broker Regulations 19 CFR select here

FEE UPDATED CALENDAR YEAR 2020

Effective October 1, 2020, the COBRA Fee for permits (USER FEE) is $150.33 (was $147.89).
Effective January 1, 2019, the broker application finger printing fee is $11.25 (was $10.00)

BMO Contacts

Port Code

Port Name

Broker Management Officer

BMO Phone Number

BMO Email

Mailing Address

Assistant Center Director

Agriculture and Prepared Products Center

0101

Portland, ME

John Dobbs

(207) 771-3607

john.l.dobbs@cbp.dhs.gov

155 Gannett Drive, South Portland, ME 04106

Israel Adame

2604

Nogales, AZ

Leticia Estrada

(520) 397-2067

leticia.m.estrada@cbp.dhs.gov

200 N Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621

Gary Melofchik

3304

Great Falls, MT

Leticia Estrada

(520) 397-2067

leticia.m.estrada@cbp.dhs.gov

200 N Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621

Gary Melofchik

Apparel, Footwear and Textiles

1401

Norfolk, VA

Deborah Miller 

(757) 533-4238

deborah.miller@cbp.dhs.gov

101 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510

Mitchel Landau

1601

Charleston, SC

Qumyka Howell

(718) 487-5118

qumyka.howell@cbp.dhs.gov

200 E Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Mitchel Landau

2704

LA/LB, CA

Tuyen Pham

(562) 366-5420

tuyen.pham@cbp.dhs.gov

301 E Ocean Blvd., Ste 900, Long Beach, CA 90802

James Snider

3701

Milwaukee, WI

Marcia Clark

(414) 486-7790  x2021

marcia.clark@cbp.dhs.gov

4915 S Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207

Alice Buchanan

5201

Miami, FL

Benito Montero

(305) 869-2646

benito.montero@cbp.dhs.gov

6601 NW 25th Street, Miami, FL 33122

Mitchel Landau

Automotive and Aerospace Center

1001

New York, NY

Alicia Edmondson

(718) 487-5076

alicia.j.edmondson@cbp.dhs.gov

John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, Building 77, 2nd Floor, Executive Office, Jamaica, NY 11430

Lucy Guardiola

1303

Baltimore, MD

Daniel Williams

(410) 962-8162

daniel.e.williams@cbp.dhs.gov

40 S Gay Street, Baltimore,  MD 21202

Christina Laurin

1901

Mobile, AL

Engrid Perryman

(251) 378-7622

engrid.e.perryman@cbp.dhs.gov

150 N. Royal Street, Suite 3004, Mobile, AL 36602

Lucy Guardiola

3001

Seattle, WA

Juan Valenzuela

(520) 397-2065

juan.c.valenzuela@cbp.dhs.gov

1000 Second Avenue, Suite 2100, Seattle, WA 98104

Lucy Guardiola

3401

Pembina, ND

Lisa Thorlakson

(701) 825-5870

lisa.a.thorlakson@cbp.dhs.gov

10980 I-29, Suite 2, Pembina, ND 58271

Lucy Guardiola

3501

Minneapolis, MN

Cathy Moretton

(952) 857-3180

cathy.a.moretton@cbp.dhs.gov

5600 American Blvd. W, Ste. 760, Bloomington, MN 55437

Serina Baker-Hill

3801

Detroit, MI

Erma Gonzalez

(313) 442-0267

erma.gonzalez-upshaw@cbp.dhs.gov

2801 B. West Fort Street, Suite 123, Detroit, MI 48216

Serina Baker-Hill

Base Metals Center

2002

New Orleans, LA

Tammy Urban

(504) 670-2359

tammy.w.urban@cbp.dhs.gov

423 Canal Street, Room 251 New Orleans, LA 70130

Tracy Roy

3901

Chicago, IL

Mary Lou Belfiore

(847) 928-6072

mary.lou.belfiore@cbp.dhs.gov

5600 Pearl Street, Rosemont, IL 60018

Ed Wachovec

4101

Cleveland, OH

Michelle English

(440) 891-2531

michelle.d.english@cbp.dhs.gov

6747 Engle Road Cleveland, OH 44130

Michael Dean

Consumer Products and Mass Merchandising Center

0502

Providence, RI

Lydia Wells

(617) 565-4615

lydia.j.wells@cbp.dhs.gov

300 Jefferson Blvd., Suite 106, Warwick, RI, 02888

Paul Sumbi

1512

Charlotte, NC

Thomas E. Rice

(704)329-6142

thomas.e.rice@cbp.dhs.gov

1901 Crossbeam Drive, Charlotte, NC 28217

Linda Golf

1704

Atlanta, GA

Danny Griffin

(404) 675-1266

danny.r.griffin@cbp.dhs.gov

157 Tradeport Drive, Atlanta, GA 30354

Linda Golf

1801

Tampa, FL

Frank Mahoney

(813) 241-6743  x242

francis.p.mahoney@cbp.dhs.gov

1803 Eastport Drive, Tampa, Florida 33605

Linda Golf

3201

Honolulu, HI

Susan Kakuda

(808) 356-4155

susan.t.kakuda@cbp.dhs.gov

300 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96850

Linda Golf

4503

St. Louis, MO

Lenora Damper 

(314) 428-2662 x210

lenora.d.damper@cbp.dhs.gov

4477 Woodson Road, St. Louis, MO 63134

Paul Sumbi

5501

Dallas/Ft Worth, TX

Jennifer Thompson

(972) 870-7537

jennifer.thompson@cbp.dhs.gov

7501 Esters Blvd., Suite 160, Irving, TX 75063

Paul Sumbi

Electronics Center

2809

San Francisco, CA

Patricia Chapman

(415) 782-9410

patricia.a.chapman@cbp.dhs.gov

555 Battery Street, San Francisco, CA 94111

Yolanda Benitez

3126

Anchorage, AK

Patricia Chapman

(415) 782-9410

patricia.a.chapman@cbp.dhs.gov

605 W 4th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501

Yolanda Benitez

Industrial & Manufacturing Materials Center

0712

Champlain, NY

Diane Ashline

(518) 298-8361

diane.n.ashline@cbp.dhs.gov

237 W Service Road, Champlain, NY 12919

Camille Madsen

0901

Buffalo, NY

John Walkowiak

(716) 843-8301

john.f.walkowiak@cbp.dhs.gov

726 Exchange Street, Suite 400, Buffalo, NY 14210

Robert Bekalarski

1703

Savannah, GA

Bobbie Alston

(912) 447-9431

bobbie.a.alston@cbp.dhs.gov

1 E Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401

Jonathan Erece

Machinery Center

5401

Washington, DC

Bernadette R. Howe

(215) 717-5818

bernadette.r.howe@cbp.dhs.gov

22685 Holiday Park Drive, Suite 15, Sterling, VA 20598

Fred Perez

1101

Philadelphia, PA

Bernadette R. Howe

(215) 717-5818

bernadette.r.howe@cbp.dhs.gov

200 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Fred Perez

2304

Laredo, TX

Leticia Benavides

(956) 794-9305

leticia.benavides@cbp.dhs.gov

715 Bob Bullock Loop, Laredo, TX 78045

Fred Perez

2904

Portland, OR

Christian Garcia 

(503) 326-3031

christian.garcia@cbp.dhs.gov

8337 NE Alderwood Road, Portland, OR 97220 

Fred Perez

Petroleum, Natural Gas and Minerals Center

0201

St. Albans, VT

Deborah Medor

(802) 527-3305

deborah.a.medor@cbp.dhs.gov

50 S. Main Street, Suite 100R, St. Albans, VT 05478

Kristi Johnson

0401

Boston, MA

Suzanne Vogan

(617) 565-6140

suzanne.m.vogan@cbp.dhs.gov

10 Causeway Street, Boston, MA 02222

Kristi Johnson

5301

Houston, TX

Daniel Saunders

(504) 985-6894

daniel.saunders@cbp.dhs.gov

2350 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Suite 900, Houston, TX 77032 

Jeffrey Saum

Pharmaceuticals, Health and Chemicals Center

2006

Memphis, TN

David R. Gault

(901) 480-4032

david.r.gault@cbp.dhs.gov

2813 Business Park Dr., Building 1, Memphis, TN 38118

Diane Amstutz

2402

El Paso, TX

Lily Galvan

(915) 730-7272          

lilia.galvan@cbp.dhs.gov

9400 Viscount Blvd., El Paso, TX 79925

Diane Amstutz

2506

Otay Mesa, CA

Frank Uotani

(619) 671-8030

frank.k.uotani@cbp.dhs.gov

9777 Via De La Amistad, San Diego, CA 92154

Lisa Santana Fox

San Juan Field Office

4909

San Juan, PR

Sheila Maldonado 

(787) 729-6994

sheila.maldonado@cbp.dhs.gov

State Rd 165 Kilometer 1.2, Guaynabo, PR 00968

Mayra Claudio

Tags: 

Source URL: https://www.cbp.gov/trade/programs-administration/customs-brokers